The CWG Writing For the Soul Conference is Almost Here!

It’s barely into December and I’ve already begun to plan for the 2011 CWG Writers’ conference. Honestly, I started saving and planning last February, the day I left last year’s conference. I’ve come to realize I’m a conference junkie. Although I’d love to go to every conference available, there are two I’m particularly fond of: The CWG Writing for the Soul (in Denver, Feb, 2011) and the ACFW conference. And it’s not just because of the excellent teaching, although that’s great, too.

For me, it’s like reuniting with family, spending time people who get me. If you’re a writer, you know exactly what I mean. Sitting in a room with other writers, it’s so refreshing to know I’m not the only one who spends hours talking to imaginary people, living in imaginary worlds, and pacing my office as I act out potential scenes. (If you catch me arguing with myself, just nod and smile, and perhaps say a prayer that it won’t turn too violent.) Yes, other people stalk their neighbors, mailman, grocery clerk, in-laws, and spend hours on the internet researching everything from painless, odorless poisons to the popular names in the 1860’s.

It’s also a time to be encouraged and refreshed. Sitting alone in my office day after day, sifting through heavy-handed critiques and fatal plot holes, it’s easy to get discouraged. There’s nothing like spending time with others who’ve “been there, done that” to help get me back on track.

Most of all, it’s a spiritual retreat where I get to connect with, laugh with, pray with others who have given their lives to write for Christ. That’s my favorite part of all. Last year as I listened to Brandylin Collins share a message on how God would perfect the plans He has for me, or when I soaked up Liz Curtis Higgs’ message on digging deep to find *my* story, and as I looked around at all the other hope-filled faces, it struck me. I was sitting in a room full of people  who longed more than anything to worship Christ with everything they had. And it was beautiful. A room full of hearts surrendered to God, ready to do His will, whether that meant writing a devotional, an article, a novel, or a nonfiction.

This year I’m looking forward to another chance to learn, grow, and connect. And of course, I’ll come prepared to pitch a novel or two. How about you?

Wanna join me? Come with me to the CWG blog as I share some tips on ways to increase your chance of success as you *gulp* pitch your novel.

About Jennifer Slattery

Novelist and speaker Jennifer Slattery, also writing as Jen Pheobus, uses humor, grace, and truth to inspire God's children to live abundant, Christ-centered lives. She does content editing for Firefly, a southern fiction imprint with Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas, and is a regular contributor to Crosswalk.com; Internet Cafe Devotions; Faith, Friends and Chocolate; and manages the social media for Takin’ it to the Streets, a ministry that serves Omaha’s working poor and homeless. She’s placed in numerous writing contests and her work has appeared in numerous compilations, magazines, and e-zines.

Posted on December 13, 2011, in community, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

