Dime Free Marketing P. II ~ Guest Blogging

The ever-expanding internet is changing the way we live. There’s chat rooms, social media sites, Youtube, and online shopping. This techno-shift has had a huge impact on consumerism. For example, I read four to five books or novels per month, yet I haven’t stepped inside a bookstore for quite some time. And when I do, it’s usually for the coffee, not the literature. Where do I get my reading material? You guessed it—an online bookstore.

How do I find my reading material? Most often, word of mouth generated by bloggers. Not that I give up my hard-earned dollar easily. With so many books vying for my attention and limited resources, I’ll normally find authors I recognize first. The new-mentions need to earn my trust, especially when we’re talking about inspirational works. The more I see them online, the more I read about them, and the more I hear about their work, the more likely I’ll be to shell out my cash.

If you’re an author, this means you’ll need to introduce yourself to me, let me get to know you, before selling your book. Guest blogging is a great, no-cost way to do that.

Bloggers, if you’re not guest blogging for others and inviting other like-minded authors to guest blog on your site, you’re missing a great opportunity to rapidly expand your audience. I know, you’re busy. You can barely keep up with your own blog, right? How in the world will you find time to write more?

You might not have to. Guest blogging isn’t so much about writing more material as it is about making the most of the material you write. Last week I guest blogged twice for Novel Rockets, a great site that receives over 30,000 unique viewers per month. Think about how much most sites charge for advertising and you’ll see this is a great return on my time.  In fact, I often guest blog for 3-4 other websites per week, 12-16 per month. Do the math. That’s a lot of new readers I’m reaching each month and a lot of cyber-juice I’m building.

Guest blogging does something print and cyber-ads can’t do: they develop reader trust and introduce me on a personal level to my audience while increasing my name recognition.

And you may remember, I posted the first paragraph of each guest post on my site. Not only is this good cyber-etiquette, but it also adds content to my blog and creates interlinking which increases my search-engine ratings.

You’ve also probably noticed I frequently host guest bloggers on this site and on my devotional blog, Jennifer Slattery Lives Out Loud. (I tend to do more interviews here and host guest guest bloggers on my devo site.) Again, this provides me with great content, drives new readers to my site, and increases my search engine ratings.

Think guest blogging might work for you? Want to host great authors on your site but lack the contacts? Shoot me an email with your website URL and I’ll check it out and hook you up with a like-minded blogger. Wanna guest post here or on my devo-blog? Again, shoot me an email with your URL so I can cyber-stalk you and see if we’re compatible.

In the meantime, happy blogging all!

About Jennifer Slattery

Novelist and speaker Jennifer Slattery, also writing as Jen Pheobus, uses humor, grace, and truth to inspire God's children to live abundant, Christ-centered lives. She does content editing for Firefly, a southern fiction imprint with Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas, and is a regular contributor to Crosswalk.com; Internet Cafe Devotions; Faith, Friends and Chocolate; and manages the social media for Takin’ it to the Streets, a ministry that serves Omaha’s working poor and homeless. She’s placed in numerous writing contests and her work has appeared in numerous compilations, magazines, and e-zines.

Posted on September 3, 2011, in Blogging, Marketing, Platform Building, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

